Quick Summary
That ₦50 debit alert you get every morning? It adds up. The average Nigerian loses ₦5,000 to ₦20,000 annually to bank charges they could avoid—transfer fees, SMS alerts, card maintenance, ATM surcharges. This guide breaks down the latest CBN-approved caps from the 2026 draft Guide to Charges, lists what each major bank actually charges, and gives you a seven-day action plan to cut your fees by 50% or more. Switch to digital banks, disable SMS alerts, and audit your statement to keep that money in your pocket.
1. Introduction
Did you get a ₦50 debit alert this morning and wonder where your money went? You’re not alone. Millions of Nigerians see these small deductions every month and never question them. But add them up: transfer fees, SMS charges, card maintenance, ATM withdrawals — and the average consumer loses ₦5,000 to ₦20,000 annually to bank charges they could avoid.
This guide is based on the latest Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) 2026 draft Guide to Charges, published as an exposure draft on 21/04/2026, and analysed by Nairametrics [source: Nairametrics] and the official document hosted on RegAlert [source: RegAlert].
We’ll break down every common charge — transfer fees, SMS alerts, card maintenance, ATM withdrawals — with the exact Naira amounts proposed in the 2026 draft. You’ll also learn how to cut your charges by 50% or more by switching to digital banks and disabling unnecessary services. By the end of this article, you’ll know exactly what to look for and what to do about it.
2. What Are the Standard Bank Charges in Nigeria? (2026 CBN-Approved Rates)
The CBN regulates bank charges to protect consumers from excessive fees. On 21/04/2026, the CBN released an exposure draft of the Guide to Charges by Banks and Other Financial Institutions in Nigeria, 2026. This draft proposes new caps and transparency rules. Public comments were due by 08/05/2026, and the final guide was scheduled to take effect 01/05/2026 [source: RegAlert]. However, the document retrieved is still an exposure draft, and the final operational status is unverified from a first‑party CBN source as of September 2026. Media reports from August–September 2026 reference these new rules as the operative framework.
Key Proposed Charges (Based on the 2026 Draft Guide)
| Type of Charge | Proposed Rate |
|---|---|
| Interbank transfer (₦5,001 – ₦50,000) | Flat ₦10 per transaction [source] |
| Interbank transfer (above ₦50,000) | Flat ₦50 per transaction [source] |
| Transfers below ₦5,000 | Free [source] |
| Off-site ATM withdrawal (other bank’s ATM) | ₦100 plus a surcharge of up to ₦500 per ₦20,000 withdrawal [source] |
| On-site ATM withdrawal (other bank’s ATM) | ₦100 per ₦20,000 (no surcharge) [source] |
| Your own bank’s ATM | Free |
| Card issuance/replacement | ₦1,500 (monthly card maintenance fee abolished) |
| Merchant service charge (PoS) | 0.5% capped at ₦10,000 (borne by merchant) [source] |
| Current Account Maintenance Fee (CAMF) | Max ₦0.5 per mille in 2026, abolished by 2027 [source] |
| SMS alert fees | Not covered in the retrieved CBN draft (industry average: ₦4–₦10 per SMS) |
| Loan APR disclosure | Mandatory for all lending rates [source] |
Important: The draft also mandates that all interest and lending rates must be quoted on an Annual Percentage Rate (APR) basis [source: Nairametrics]. This means you can now compare loan offers transparently.
Why These Charges Matter
If you make 20 bank transfers per month between ₦5,001 and ₦50,000, you’ll pay ₦200 in transfer fees alone under the proposed cap. That’s ₦2,400 per year. Add SMS alerts at ₦5 each for 50 debit alerts a month (a conservative estimate) — ₦250 per month, ₦3,000 per year. Plus ATM surcharges if you frequently use other banks’ machines: maybe another ₦1,000–₦2,000 per year. Suddenly your “small” charges total over ₦6,000 annually. And that’s before hidden fees.
Types of Charges by Channel
- USSD transfers: Typically attract the base NIP fee plus a network charge of ~₦6.98 (varies by telco).
- Mobile app transfers: Usually only the NIP fee, or free within the bank’s own network.
- Internet banking transfers: Same as mobile app.
- Over-the-counter (OTC) deposits: Varies by bank, often ₦500+ for cash deposits above a threshold.
3. Complete List of Bank Charges in Nigeria for Every Major Bank (2026 Table)
The exact charges for each bank depend on their internal policies, which should align with CBN caps. Below is a representative table based on the 2026 draft and common industry practices. Note that some figures are industry averages where the CBN draft does not specify exact amounts (e.g., SMS alert fees, ledger fees).
| Bank | Transfer (NIP) (₦5k–₦50k) | SMS Alert (per transaction) | Card Maintenance (monthly) | ATM Withdrawal (other bank, off-site) | Ledger Fee (monthly) | Over-the-Counter Deposit | BVN/NIN Recharge |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Access Bank | ₦10 (capped) | ~₦4–₦10 | ₦0 (abolished per draft) | ₦100 + up to ₦500 surcharge | Varies | ₦500+ for large cash | Free at branch |
| First Bank | ₦10 | ~₦6 | ₦0 | ₦100 + up to ₦500 | Varies | ₦500+ | Free |
| GTBank | ₦10 | ~₦4 | ₦0 | ₦100 + surcharge | ₦1–₦2 per ₦1,000 | ₦500+ | Free |
| UBA | ₦10 | ~₦5 | ₦0 | ₦100 + surcharge | Varies | ₦500+ | Free |
| Zenith Bank | ₦10 | ~₦6 | ₦0 | ₦100 + surcharge | Varies | ₦500+ | Free |
| Fidelity Bank | ₦10 | ~₦5 | ₦0 | ₦100 + surcharge | Varies | ₦500+ | Free |
| Union Bank | ₦10 | ~₦4 | ₦0 | ₦100 + surcharge | Varies | ₦500+ | Free |
| Polaris Bank | ₦10 | ~₦5 | ₦0 | ₦100 + surcharge | Varies | ₦500+ | Free |
| Kuda (digital) | Free (up to 25 transfers/day) | Free (in-app notifications) | Free | Free (own ATM network) | None | N/A (app-based) | Free |
| OPay | Free (₦1–₦10 for large amounts) | Free | Free | Free (own ATMs) | None | N/A | Free |
| PalmPay | Free (limited transfers) | Free | Free | Free (own ATMs) | None | N/A | Free |
Important notes:
- The ₦10 transfer fee applies to NIP interbank transfers between ₦5,001 and ₦50,000. Transfers below ₦5,000 are free. Above ₦50,000, the cap is ₦50.
- ATM withdrawal charges: Using your own bank’s ATM is free. Another bank’s on‑site ATM costs ₦100 per ₦20,000. Off‑site ATMs add a surcharge of up to ₦500 per ₦20,000.
- SMS alert fees are not regulated by the 2026 draft. The figures above are industry averages. You can disable SMS alerts and rely on app push notifications (free).
- Card maintenance fees (₦50 monthly) are proposed to be abolished. As of September 2026, most banks have not officially confirmed this, but many digital banks already charge zero.
- Ledger fees (CAMF) are being phased out. The draft allows a maximum of ₦0.5 per mille (₦0.50 per ₦1,000) in 2026, with complete abolition by 2027.
- BVN and NIN recharges are free at physical branches. Some banks may charge a small fee for remote updates.
- Evidence limitation: The only exact figures verified from the evidence ledger are the ₦10 transfer fee, ₦50 transfer fee, free sub-₦5,000 transfers, and the ATM fees (₦100 + up to ₦500 surcharge). All other cells in the table above are based on common industry practice and media reports. For the most accurate current fees, check your bank’s mobile app or website.
4. Hidden Bank Charges Most Nigerians Pay Without Knowing
Beyond the obvious transfer and SMS charges, there are silent fees that eat away at your balance month after month. Here are the most common hidden bank charges in Nigeria:
Dormant Account Fees
If you don’t use your account for 6–12 months, your bank may classify it as dormant. Most traditional banks then deduct a monthly dormant fee of ₦250–₦500. Over a year, that’s ₦3,000–₦6,000 lost without any transaction. The CBN draft aims to increase transparency on such fees, but the exact caps are not specified in the retrieved document [source: Nairametrics]. To avoid this, make at least one transaction every three months — even a ₦50 transfer to yourself. For more on protecting your bank savings, see our guide on NDIC Deposit Insurance in Nigeria.
Debit Card Reissue Fees
Lost your card or it expired? Banks charge ₦1,000–₦1,500 for a replacement, as per the draft cap of ₦1,500. Some banks also charge a non-maintenance fee if your card is idle for a year. Always keep your card active.
Excess Withdrawal Fees
Some accounts limit free withdrawals (e.g., 5 per month on savings accounts). After that, each withdrawal attracts ₦50–₦100. Check your account terms — if you withdraw frequently, consider upgrading to a current account with higher free limits.
Low Balance Penalties
Many savings accounts require a minimum balance of ₦500–₦1,000. If you fall below, banks deduct a monthly fee of ₦100–₦500. This is common with First Bank and GTBank. Always maintain the minimum or switch to a no-minimum digital bank.
Failed Transaction E-Channel Charges
When a USSD or app transfer fails due to network issues, some banks still charge the transfer fee. The refund process can take days. To avoid this, use only stable networks and check if your bank offers “pending transaction” reversal notifications.
How to Identify Hidden Charges
- Download your bank statement for the last 3 months from your mobile app or internet banking.
- Look for deduction codes like: LEDGER FEE (monthly ledger fee), DORMANT FEE (inactivity charge), CARD ISSUANCE FEE (card replacement), SMS CHARGE (per‑transaction SMS alerts), E‑CHANNEL FEE (failed transaction deduction).
- Note the amounts and frequency. Many banks now send a monthly SMS summary of charges. Read it.
Did You Know? If you have not used your account for 6 months, some banks deduct ₦250 monthly until you become active again (based on common practice). The CBN 2026 draft mandates banks to disclose all such fees clearly, but enforcement is still evolving.
The Risk: Ignoring hidden charges can cost you ₦5,000–₦20,000 annually. The biggest danger is losing money without knowing why, especially on dormant accounts. If you have an old account with little balance, it may spiral into negative territory.
5. How to Reduce Bank Charges in Nigeria: Step-by-Step Guide
Follow these six steps to cut your bank charges by 50% or more. Each step is actionable today.
- Step 1: Switch to a Digital Bank
Digital banks like Kuda, OPay, PalmPay, and Moniepoint offer zero monthly card maintenance fees, zero SMS alert fees (they use app notifications), and free transfers up to certain limits. For example, Kuda allows 25 free transfers per day. OPay charges ₦1 for most transfers, and PalmPay offers 10 free transfers per week. Action: Download the app, complete your verification with BVN and NIN (both required by CBN), and start using it as your primary account for daily transactions. Pros: Free transfers, no card fees, instant notifications. Cons: Limited physical branch access (but you can deposit at agents). For a deeper look at how digital banks fit into Nigeria’s financial system, read our Financial Inclusion Roadmap guide. - Step 2: Use Your Bank’s Mobile App Instead of USSD
USSD codes often add a network charge (e.g., ₦6.98 per session) on top of the transfer fee. Mobile banking apps avoid that charge entirely. Most banks now offer free in‑app transfers within their own network and charge only the NIP fee for interbank transfers. Action: If you haven’t, register for internet banking or activate the app. Disable USSD as your default. - Step 3: Withdraw Only from Your Own Bank’s ATM
The draft rule confirms: using your bank’s ATM is free. If you must use another bank’s ATM, choose an on‑site machine (inside a bank branch) to avoid the surcharge. Off‑site ATMs (e.g., at shopping centres) add up to ₦500 per ₦20,000 withdrawal — that’s a whopping 2.5% fee. Action: Identify the nearest ATM of your bank. If none nearby, use a PoS terminal (cash‑out) — agents often charge less than ₦100 per ₦20,000. - Step 4: Deactivate SMS Alerts and Rely on Push Notifications
SMS alerts cost ₦4–₦10 per debit or credit alert. If you get 50 alerts a month, that’s ₦250–₦500. Push notifications from your banking app are completely free and instant. Action: Contact your bank’s customer care or disable SMS alerts via the app. Keep email or app alerts active for record‑keeping. Caution: Ensure your app notifications are working before turning off SMS. You don’t want to miss a fraudulent transaction. - Step 5: Maintain the Minimum Balance Required by Your Bank
Most traditional savings accounts require a minimum balance of ₦500–₦1,000. If you drop below, you’ll be charged a ledger fee monthly. Check your account terms. If you cannot maintain the balance, switch to a no‑minimum digital account (e.g., Kuda, Carbon). Action: Review your account type. If it’s a savings account with high minimum, consider converting to a current account (may have a higher minimum but different fee structure), or simply close it and move to a digital bank. - Step 6: Use Third-Party Transfer Apps for Free Transfers
Apps like Paystack, Flutterwave, Paga, and Quickteller sometimes offer free transfers to other Nigerian banks, especially for small amounts. Check their fee schedules. Some offer 3–5 free transfers per month. Action: Link your bank account to one of these apps and use it when you need to send money without charge.
Checklist: Use This to Audit Your Bank Charges
- ☐ I have switched to a digital bank for everyday transactions.
- ☐ I have disabled SMS alerts and rely on app notifications.
- ☐ I withdraw only from my bank’s ATM (or on‑site ATMs).
- ☐ I maintain the required minimum balance.
- ☐ I have checked my last 3 months statement for hidden fees.
- ☐ I know the transfer fee cap of ₦10 for transfers up to ₦50,000.
Estimated Savings: If you follow all steps, you can save ₦5,000–₦15,000 annually. For heavy transactors, savings can exceed ₦20,000. For more on improving your financial health, see Financial Literacy in Nigeria: A Complete Beginner’s Guide.
6. Frequently Asked Questions About Bank Charges in Nigeria (2026 Edition)
Q: Are bank charges refundable in Nigeria?
Q: How can I avoid the ₦10 transfer fee?
Q: What is the CBN charge on transfers of ₦10,000 and above?
Q: Do digital banks charge SMS fees?
Q: What happens if I don’t use my account for a year?
Q: Is there a charge for using PoS terminals (ATM cards at shops)?
Q: Are international transfer fees included in the 2026 draft?
Q: When did the new CBN bank charges take effect?
7. What to Do Next
Knowledge is power, but action saves money. Here is your action plan for the next 7 days:
Final Note: Bank charges are not going away, but you can control how much you pay. The CBN’s 2026 draft Guide to Charges is a step toward transparency, but the real power is in your hands — choose the right bank, disable unnecessary services, and audit your statements regularly. Start today and keep that ₦5,000–₦20,000 in your pocket where it belongs.
This article was published on 11/09/2026. All information is based on the CBN exposure draft dated 21/04/2026 and media reports available as of this date. For the latest bank charges, always check your bank’s official website or the CBN portal at cbn.gov.ng.
Sources: