Quick Summary
If you are a freelancer, creator, or remote worker in Nigeria, you already know the struggle: irregular income, rising inflation, and the constant pressure to make your Naira work harder. The good news? In 2026, you can earn interest rates of up to 13% p.a. on a regular savings account — a far cry from the 1–3% most traditional accounts paid just a few years ago. This guide covers everything you need to know about high interest savings accounts in Nigeria, how they fit into your overall freelance finance system, and the tax rules you must follow under the new Nigeria Tax Act 2025 (effective 1 January 2026). We’ll also touch on receiving USD payments, invoicing clients, and managing foreign exchange.
Quick Answer
The best high interest savings accounts in Nigeria for 2026 are Access Bank’s High Interest Deposit Account (HIDA) and Fidelity Bank’s High Yield Savings Account, with tiered rates up to 13% p.a. and 10.45% p.a. respectively. Typical rates across the market now range from 7.95% to 13% p.a., far above the old 1–3%. For freelancers, these accounts offer the best combination of decent returns and flexibility to handle irregular income.
Key Takeaways
- High interest savings accounts in Nigeria now pay 7.95%–13% p.a., well above inflation-beating levels for some tiers.
- Access Bank HIDA offers the highest verified rate (13% for balances above ₦250 million); Fidelity HYSA is competitive for smaller balances.
- All interest is subject to 10% withholding tax deducted at source.
- Under the Nigeria Tax Act 2025, freelancers must register for a Tax ID and file annual returns by 31 March.
- Combine a high interest savings account with fixed deposits or Treasury Bills for medium- to long-term goals.
1. What Is a High Interest Savings Account and Why Freelancers in Nigeria Need One
A high interest savings account is exactly what it sounds like — a savings account that pays you significantly more interest than a standard savings account. While a basic savings account might offer 1–3% per annum, high interest savings accounts in Nigeria now range from 7.95% to 13% p.a., depending on how much you deposit and where you bank.
Why freelancers specifically need this
As a freelancer, you face two major financial challenges:
- Inflation: Nigeria’s inflation rate has been in double digits for years. If your savings earn less than inflation, you are losing purchasing power every month.
- Irregular income: You may get a large payment one month and nothing the next. A high interest savings account gives you a place to park idle funds that still earns decent returns while remaining accessible.
Regular savings accounts (e.g., basic GTBank or UBA savings) pay negligible interest. High interest accounts — offered by commercial banks like Access Bank and Fidelity Bank, as well as fintechs like PiggyVest, Kuda, and Renmoney — are designed to help you grow your emergency fund or short-term savings.
How CBN regulations affect rates
The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) sets a Monetary Policy Rate (MPR) that influences deposit rates. As of mid-2026, the MPR stood at 26.5%, creating a high-yield environment. However, banks are not required to pass on the full MPR to depositors. The rates you see below are what banks actually offer.
2. Top High Interest Savings Accounts in Nigeria (2026 Rates & Naira Costs)
Below are the verified rates from two major banks. We also note other options, but their 2026 rates are not confirmed in our evidence — always check directly with the provider.
Access Bank High Interest Deposit Account (HIDA)
Access Bank’s HIDA offers tiered interest based on your average monthly balance. The higher your balance, the higher the rate.
| Balance Tier | Interest Rate (p.a.) |
|---|---|
| Below ₦100,000 | 7.95% |
| ₦100,000 – ₦4,999,999 | 8.35% |
| ₦5,000,000 – ₦49,999,999 | 9.00% |
| ₦50,000,000 – ₦99,999,999 | 9.50% |
| ₦100,000,000 – ₦249,999,999 | 11.00% |
| ₦250,000,000+ | 13.00% |
- Minimum balance: Not stated on the Access Bank page — contact the bank directly.
- Monthly fees: Not specified (typical ₦0–₦50).
- Withdrawal restrictions: Not specified (limited free withdrawals per month is standard).
- NDIC insured: Yes (up to ₦5 million per depositor per deposit money bank).
Fidelity Bank High Yield Savings Account (HYSA)
Fidelity’s HYSA also uses a tiered structure, reaching a maximum of 10.45% for balances above ₦50 million.
| Balance Tier | Interest Rate (p.a.) |
|---|---|
| Below ₦100,000 | 7.95% |
| ₦100,000 – ₦4,999,999 | 8.45% |
| ₦5,000,000 – ₦49,999,999 | 9.45% |
| ₦50,000,000+ | 10.45% |
- Minimum balance: Not specified (likely ₦0 or very low).
- Monthly fees: Not specified (likely ₦0 for digital accounts).
- Withdrawal restrictions: Not specified (limited free withdrawals standard).
- NDIC insured: Yes.
Comparison Table (Verified & Unverified)
| Provider | Interest Rate (p.a.) | Minimum Balance | Monthly Fee | Withdrawal Limit | Opening Requirements | NDIC Insured |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Access Bank HIDA | 7.95% – 13% (tiered) | Contact bank | Not specified | Not specified | BVN, NIN, ID | Yes |
| Fidelity Bank HYSA | 7.95% – 10.45% (tiered) | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | BVN, NIN, ID | Yes |
| Renmoney | Up to 28% (locked), 17% (flexible) – rate not verified from primary source | Check provider | Check provider | Check provider | BVN, NIN | Yes (deposit insurance via MFB) |
| Moniepoint | Up to 17.5% flexible – rate not verified | Check provider | Check provider | Check provider | BVN, NIN | Yes |
| PiggyVest | SafeLock up to 15.5–17% – rate not verified | Check provider | ₦0 | Locked savings | BVN, NIN | Yes (via partner banks) |
| Kuda | Up to 15% (fixed) – rate not verified | ₦0 | ₦0 | Monthly limit | BVN, NIN | Yes |
Note: The table above includes fintechs that have advertised higher rates in the past. However, as of September 2026, we do not have first-party verified current rates. Always confirm directly on their official websites or apps before depositing large sums.
USD-denominated options
For freelancers who receive payments in dollars, GTBank offers a GTBank Dollar Savings Account (rates typically around 1–3% p.a.), but these are much lower than Naira returns. If you plan to spend your USD in Nigeria, it may be better to convert to Naira and use a high interest Naira account — but watch the exchange rate risk. For more on opening a dollar account, see our guide: How to Open a Dollar Account in Nigeria.
3. Step‑by‑Step Guide: How to Open a High Interest Savings Account in Nigeria
Follow these steps to open any of the accounts listed above. The process is similar whether you choose Access Bank, Fidelity, or a fintech.
- Choose your provider – Refer to the comparison above. If you have a large balance (₦5 million+), Access Bank’s top tier offers the best rate (13%). For smaller balances, Fidelity’s rates are competitive. If you want zero fees and an app-only experience, a fintech like Kuda or PiggyVest may be better — but verify their current 2026 rates.
- Gather required documents – Almost all Nigerian banks and fintechs require: BVN, NIN, valid ID (passport, driver’s licence, national ID card, or voter’s card), passport photograph (usually digital), and proof of address (utility bill, tenancy agreement, or bank statement — some fintechs skip this).
- Download the app or visit a branch – For traditional banks (Access, Fidelity), download the bank’s mobile app or walk into any branch with your documents. For fintechs (Kuda, PiggyVest, Renmoney, Moniepoint), download the app and sign up with your phone number and email.
- Complete verification – Enter your BVN and NIN. The system will validate them instantly. Upload a clear photo of your ID and a selfie for facial recognition. Timeline: 24–48 hours for most cases. Some fintechs approve in under 10 minutes.
- Fund the account – For Access HIDA, to earn the tiered rates you need at least ₦100,000 (the first tier). If you deposit less, you earn 7.95% on the entire balance. For Fidelity HYSA, there appears to be no minimum balance requirement — even ₦1 earns the posted tier if your average balance crosses the threshold. But check the terms. For fintechs, you can fund via bank transfer or card.
- Set up automatic savings – Most apps allow you to create savings goals (e.g., “Emergency Fund”, “Tax Payment”) and automate transfers from your main account. Use this feature to ensure you consistently save. Freelancers with variable income can set a percentage-based auto-save.
4. High Interest Savings vs. Fixed Deposit vs. Treasury Bills: Which Is Best for Freelancers?
Each savings vehicle has different trade-offs. Here’s how they compare:
| Feature | High Interest Savings | Fixed Deposit | Treasury Bills |
|---|---|---|---|
| Liquidity | High (some withdrawal limits per month) | Low (locked for tenor) | Medium (can sell early on secondary market) |
| Interest rate (p.a.) | 7.95% – 13% (as of 2026) | Typically 10% – 15% (varies by bank and tenor) | CBN rate – check current CBN website |
| Minimum deposit | Often ₦0 – ₦100,000 | Usually ₦100,000+ | ₦100,000 |
| Risk | Low (NDIC insured up to ₦5M per bank) | Low (NDIC insured up to ₦5M) | Very low (government-backed) |
| Tax | 10% WHT deducted at source | 10% WHT | Exempt for individuals (generally tax-free) |
| Best for | Emergency fund, short-term goals (0–6 months) | Medium-term goals (3–12 months) | Long-term savings (1 year+) |
How freelancers should choose
- Emergency fund (3–6 months of expenses): Keep in a high interest savings account. You need quick access without penalty.
- Short-term goal (e.g., buying equipment in 6 months): Use a fixed deposit if you are sure you won’t need the money before maturity.
- Long-term savings (e.g., retirement or house deposit in 2+ years): Consider Treasury Bills or even bonds. The interest is tax-free for individuals, and rates are competitive.
Key insight for freelancers: Because your income fluctuates, a high interest savings account offers the best combination of decent returns and flexibility. You can move money in and out as projects come and go without locking it up. For more on building a complete savings strategy, see our guide on Best Flexible Savings Accounts in Nigeria 2026.
5. Hidden Fees and Terms to Watch Out For
Interest rates look great, but fees can eat into your earnings. Here’s what to check before you open an account:
- Monthly maintenance fee: Traditional banks sometimes charge ₦50 or more. Fintechs typically charge ₦0.
- Withdrawal fees: Most accounts allow a limited number of free withdrawals per month (e.g., 3–5). After that, you pay per withdrawal (e.g., ₦52–₦100).
- SMS charges: Some banks charge ₦4 per transaction alert. Opt in for email or app notifications to avoid SMS costs.
- Card issuance fee: If you request a debit card for the savings account, it may cost ₦1,000 or more annually.
- Promotional rates: Some accounts advertise high “introductory” rates that drop to much lower standard rates after 3 months. Always read the fine print and check what the rate will be after the promo period ends.
- Minimum balance penalty: If your balance falls below a certain amount (e.g., ₦500), some banks charge a monthly penalty.
- Interest calculation method: Is interest calculated on the daily balance or monthly average? Daily calculation is better for you. Also, check if interest is paid on the entire balance or only on the portion within a tier (most use tiered rates on the entire balance once you cross the threshold).
How to avoid surprises: Before opening, request the full terms and conditions or find them on the bank’s website. For fintechs, the terms are usually accessible in the app under “Settings” or “Legal”.
6. Tax Implications of Savings Interest for Freelancers in Nigeria
Under the new Nigeria Tax Act 2025, which took effect on 1 January 2026, the tax rules for freelancers have changed significantly. This section covers both the tax on your savings interest and the tax on your freelance income.
Tax on interest income
All interest earned from savings accounts, fixed deposits, and other interest-bearing instruments is subject to 10% withholding tax (WHT). This tax is deducted at source by the bank before the interest is credited to your account. That means you do not need to calculate it yourself — the bank sends the 10% directly to the tax authorities.
- Example: If you earn ₦10,000 in interest, the bank will credit you ₦9,000 and remit ₦1,000 as WHT.
- Personal Income Tax (PIT): The interest income you receive (net of WHT) should be included in your annual income tax return. However, the WHT already paid serves as a credit against your final tax liability. If your total PIT liability is less than the WHT deducted, you may be entitled to a refund.
- NDIC insurance: Remember, deposits are insured up to ₦5 million per depositor per deposit money bank, and ₦2 million per microfinance bank. This protects your principal, not the interest. For more details, see our guide: NDIC Deposit Insurance in Nigeria: Your 2026 Guide to Protecting Savings.
Tax on freelance income (important!)
The 2026 tax reforms introduced major changes that directly affect freelancers and content creators:
- Worldwide income: Nigerian residents are now taxed on income earned anywhere in the world. Non-residents are taxed only on Nigerian-sourced income. Residency is determined by domicile, habitual abode, family/economic ties, or spending 183+ days in Nigeria.
Source: PwC Nigeria – Individual – Significant developments - New progressive PIT rates:
First ₦300,000 – 1%
Next ₦300,000 – 11%
Next ₦500,000 – 15%
Next ₦500,000 – 18%
Next ₦1,300,000 – 21%
Next ₦25,000,000 – 23%
Above ₦50,000,000 – 25%
The top marginal rate is now 25%.
Source: PwC Nigeria – Individual – Significant developments - Rent relief replaces Consolidated Relief Allowance: The old Consolidated Relief Allowance (CRA) has been removed. Instead, you can claim a deduction of 20% of annual rent paid, capped at ₦500,000.
Source: PwC Nigeria – Individual – Significant developments - Content creators and digital earners are explicitly chargeable: Income from subscriptions, ads, brand endorsements, platform revenue sharing, and digital rewards is now taxable.
Source: Personal Income Tax Guidelines 2026 – Joint Revenue Board of Nigeria - Registration and filing: Every taxable person must register for a Tax ID with the relevant state tax authority. Annual returns must be filed by 31 March each year. Failure to register incurs an initial penalty of ₦50,000 plus ₦25,000 for each subsequent month of non-compliance.
Source: Personal Income Tax Guidelines 2026 – Joint Revenue Board of Nigeria
What this means for you
- Your high interest savings account interest will have 10% WHT already deducted — it’s not a surprise.
- All your freelance income (from Upwork, Fiverr, YouTube, Substack, foreign clients) is taxable in Nigeria if you are a resident.
- You must register for a Tax ID (if you haven’t already) and file your annual tax return by 31 March.
- You can reduce your taxable income by claiming rent relief (up to ₦500,000) and other allowable expenses (e.g., internet, equipment, home office — but check with a tax professional for exact deductions).
For a broader overview of managing your freelance finances, read our Financial Literacy in Nigeria: A Complete Beginner’s Guide to Money Decisions.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Which bank gives the highest interest rate on savings account in Nigeria 2026?
Based on verified evidence, Access Bank’s HIDA offers up to 13% p.a. for balances above ₦250 million. For smaller balances, Fidelity Bank’s HYSA offers up to 10.45% p.a. for balances above ₦50 million. Some fintechs (Renmoney, Moniepoint, PiggyVest) claim higher rates (17–28%), but their current 2026 rates are not confirmed in our sources. Always verify directly.
2. Is 10% interest on a savings account good?
Yes, 10% p.a. is excellent by historical Nigerian standards. With inflation currently in double digits, earning 10% helps preserve some purchasing power. However, it may still not outpace inflation fully. Consider combining a high interest savings account with other investments like Treasury Bills or mutual funds for longer-term growth. See our guide on Best Money Market Funds in Nigeria for alternatives.
3. How much interest will ₦500,000 earn in a savings account per month?
If you deposit ₦500,000 in an account earning 8.35% p.a. (Access Bank tier), the monthly interest is approximately (₦500,000 × 8.35%) ÷ 12 = ₦3,479 before tax. After 10% WHT, you receive about ₦3,131 per month. At 10.45% p.a. (Fidelity top tier), monthly interest would be about ₦4,354 net of tax.
4. Do savings accounts charge monthly fees in Nigeria?
Some traditional banks charge a monthly maintenance fee (typically ₦30–₦50). Fintechs like Kuda, PiggyVest, and Moniepoint generally charge ₦0 monthly fees. However, there may be charges for SMS alerts, debit cards, or excess withdrawals. Always read the fee schedule provided by the bank/fintech.
5. Are high interest savings accounts safe in Nigeria?
Yes, deposits are insured by the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC) up to ₦5 million per depositor per deposit money bank and ₦2 million per microfinance bank. This covers both the principal and accrued interest up to the limit. Choose licensed banks and fintechs that partner with insured institutions.
6. Do I need to pay tax on my savings interest?
Yes. Interest income is subject to 10% withholding tax deducted at source by the bank. You do not need to pay additional tax on that interest separately, but you must include it in your annual income tax return. The WHT paid is credited against your total tax liability.
7. Can I open a high interest savings account with my BVN only?
Most Nigerian banks require both BVN and NIN to open any savings account. Some fintechs initially allowed BVN-only, but recent CBN regulations mandate NIN for all new accounts. You will likely need both.
8. What is the difference between savings account and high interest savings account?
A regular savings account typically pays 1–3% p.a. interest, while a high interest savings account pays 7–13% p.a. (or more from fintechs). High interest accounts often require higher minimum balances or have tiered rates, but they are still savings accounts — you can withdraw money, though sometimes with limits.
9. How do I calculate interest on my savings account in Nigeria?
Most banks use the daily balance method or monthly average balance method to calculate interest. The formula is: Interest = (Balance × Rate × Number of Days in Period) ÷ (365 or 366). Then 10% WHT is deducted from the gross interest. Check your bank’s specific calculation method in your account agreement.
10. What happens if I withdraw from my high interest savings account too often?
Some accounts limit free withdrawals to a certain number per month (e.g., 3 or 5). Exceeding that incurs a fee (e.g., ₦52 per withdrawal). Also, if your balance falls below a tier threshold, the interest rate on all your savings may drop to the lower tier for that month. Plan your withdrawals to avoid losing interest.