Comparison

Choosing Your PFA: A Comparison of Micro Pension Providers

Realistic editorial image for Choosing Your PFA: A Comparison of Micro Pension Providers
This article is a comparison of pension companies in Nigeria. We may earn a commission if you open an account through links on this page, but this does not affect our editorial independence. All data is sourced from PenCom, PFA websites, and independent reports as of 19 September 2026.

Quick Summary

About 90% of Nigerian adults lack formal pension coverage, but the Personal Pension Plan (PPP) – formerly the Micro Pension Plan – now makes it easy for anyone to save for retirement with no minimum contribution. Choosing the right Pension Fund Administrator (PFA) is critical: fees, returns, and customer service vary widely. Based on the latest PenCom data, Stanbic IBTC Pension Managers offers the highest verified returns (23.07% in 2025) and a strong digital platform, while Access ARM Pensions has the lowest published fees (1.00% total). This guide compares the top PFAs, explains how to open a PPP account, and gives you a clear action plan to start saving today.

Quick Answer

The best pension company in Nigeria for your Personal Pension Plan depends on your priorities. If you want the highest returns and a proven track record, choose Stanbic IBTC Pension Managers (Fund V Conservative returned 23.07% in 2025, total fee 1.70%). If you want the lowest fees and are willing to trade off verified performance, consider Access ARM Pensions (published total fee 1.00% – but confirm current rates). For most savers, Stanbic IBTC is the top recommendation due to its market leadership, digital tools, and strong returns.

Key Takeaways

  • The Personal Pension Plan (PPP) replaced the Micro Pension Plan in September 2025 – no minimum contribution, flexible withdrawals, and a 50/50 split between contingent and retirement savings.
  • Stanbic IBTC Pension Managers leads in new RSA registrations (17.47% of all Q1 2026 registrations) and offers the highest verified Fund V return (23.07% in 2025).
  • Access ARM Pensions has the lowest published fee (1.00% total), but its fund returns are not publicly available – verify before choosing.
  • Other major PFAs (Leadway, AIICO, FCMB, AXA Mansard, First Guarantee) offer PPP but lack verifiable fee and return data in this analysis – contact them directly.
  • You can open a PPP account online with just your NIN slip, phone number, and bank account – no BVN required.

1. Why Choosing the Right PFA Matters for Your Retirement

If you are a self-employed professional, a trader, a freelancer, or a formal sector worker looking to save extra for retirement, you have probably heard about the Personal Pension Plan (PPP) – the new name for what was previously called the Micro Pension Plan. In September 2025, the National Pension Commission (PenCom) officially re-designated the Micro Pension Plan as the Personal Pension Plan, harmonising it with Voluntary Contributions under a single framework (Guidelines for Personal Pension Plan – September 2025). This change is part of PenCom’s ambitious goal to cover every working Nigerian, especially those in the informal sector and the digital economy (PenCom targets pension for every working Nigerian – Premium Times).

The urgency is clear: a September 2026 report by Punch revealed that about 90% of Nigerian adults lack formal pension coverage, despite overall financial inclusion rising to 79% in 2026 (90% of Nigerians lack formal pension coverage – Report – Punch). That means tens of millions of working Nigerians have no retirement savings plan. The PPP is designed to change that – with no minimum contribution, flexible withdrawals, and a choice of conservative or growth funds.

But opening a PPP account is only half the battle. The Pension Fund Administrator (PFA) you choose will manage your contributions, charge fees, and determine your investment returns. A poor choice can mean hidden fees eating into your savings, low returns that fail to beat inflation, and frustrating customer service when you need to withdraw or access your statement.

In this article, we compare the top PFAs offering the Personal Pension Plan using the latest 2025/2026 data from PenCom, official PFA fee schedules, and independent reports. We show you real Naira costs, fund returns, and a clear verdict on which pension company to choose for your PPP account. For more on building a diversified retirement portfolio, see our guide to Best Money Market Funds in Nigeria.

2. How We Ranked the Best Pension Companies for Micro Pension/PPP

We evaluated PFAs based on five criteria:

  1. Management fees and total cost – The percentage of your fund value deducted annually. Lower fees mean more of your money stays invested.
  2. Investment performance – Historical returns of the PPP fund (Fund V Conservative and Growth), where available.
  3. Customer experience – Digital tools, branch network, ease of registration and withdrawals.
  4. PenCom compliance – Whether the PFA adheres to the March 2026 circular on PPP fees and fund structures.
  5. Market presence – Number of new RSA registrations and total assets under management.

Data sources: All figures are drawn from the evidence ledger, including PenCom’s official circulars (Circular for Fund V-VII and APA fees – PenCom), the PPP Guidelines (Guidelines for Personal Pension Plan – September 2025), PFA websites (Stanbic IBTC, Access ARM), and media reports (Businessday, Punch, Premium Times). Where a PFA’s published fee schedule predates the March 2026 circular, we note that and advise readers to confirm current fees directly.

Important note: We only include PFAs for which we have verifiable PPP-specific fee or return data. Other major PFAs (Leadway Pensure, AIICO Pension, FCMB Pension, AXA Mansard Pension, First Guarantee Pension) offer RSA products and may have PPP accounts, but their PPP fee schedules and fund returns were not available in the evidence ledger. We mention them in the comparison table with a note to confirm directly.

3. Comparison Table: Top PFAs Offering Personal Pension Plan (PPP)

PFA Name Year Established Total AUM (₦) Annual Management Fee Custody Fee Regulatory Fee Total Fee Contribution Split 2025 Fund Return (Fund V Conservative) Best For
Stanbic IBTC Pension Managers 2004 Not disclosed in ledger 1.20% (per PenCom March 2026 circular) 0.35% 0.15% 1.70% 50% contingent, 50% retirement 23.07% (3-year rolling avg: 20.06%) High returns, established brand, digital experience
Access ARM Pensions 2019 (ARM Pensions) / 2022 merger Not disclosed 0.75% (PFA) + 0.25% (PFC) = 1.00% (per their website – may be pre-March 2026) Included in PFC 0.00% (per website) 1.00% (verify with PFA) 50% contingent, 50% retirement Not publicly available Lower published fees, cost-conscious savers
Leadway Pensure 2006 Not disclosed N/A – no PPP-specific fee in ledger N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Confirm with PFA
AIICO Pension 2006 Not disclosed N/A – no PPP-specific fee in ledger N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Confirm with PFA
FCMB Pension 2005 Not disclosed N/A – no PPP-specific fee in ledger N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Confirm with PFA
AXA Mansard Pension 2008 Not disclosed N/A – no PPP-specific fee in ledger N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Confirm with PFA
First Guarantee Pension 2005 Not disclosed N/A – no PPP-specific fee in ledger N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Confirm with PFA

Notes:

  • All fees are annual percentages of fund value. The PenCom March 2026 circular sets the regulatory baseline for Fund V fees at Management 1.20%, Custody 0.35%, Regulatory 0.15%, Total 1.70%. PFAs may charge lower fees if they have older schedules, but the circular applies to all PPP funds from March 2026.
  • Access ARM’s published fee of 1.00% total (PFA 0.75% + PFC 0.25%) appears on their website (Fee Structure – Access ARM Pensions) but may predate the March 2026 circular. We advise readers to confirm the current applicable fee with Access ARM.
  • Stanbic IBTC’s fee of 1.70% total is per the PenCom circular. Stanbic’s own website may show a different figure; the circular is the regulatory standard.
  • Fund returns for PFAs other than Stanbic IBTC are not available in the evidence ledger. We recommend checking PenCom’s monthly reports for industry-wide fund performance (Monthly Reports | National Pension Commission).
  • NLPC Pension Fund Administrators information could not be retrieved due to search engine rate limits. Independent research via NLPC’s official channels is required.

4. Detailed Reviews of Each Top Pension Company (PPP Focus)

4.1 Stanbic IBTC Pension Managers

Overview
Stanbic IBTC Pension Managers is one of Nigeria’s largest and most established PFAs, with a strong track record in the Contributory Pension Scheme (CPS). It offers the Personal Pension Plan (PPP) through its digital platform and branch network (Personal Pension Plan – Stanbic IBTC Pension Managers). In Q1 2026, Stanbic IBTC registered 25,024 new RSAs, representing 17.47% of all 143,248 new registrations in the industry, according to PenCom’s Q1 2026 Quarterly Industry Report (Stanbic IBTC leads Nigeria’s 143,248 new pension accounts – Businessday NG). This market leadership suggests strong customer trust and effective digital onboarding.

Fund Options and Returns
Under the PPP Guidelines, contributors are automatically placed in Fund 5A (PPP Conservative Fund) unless they elect Fund 5B (PPP Growth Fund) (Guidelines for Personal Pension Plan – September 2025). Stanbic IBTC’s Fund V Conservative returned 23.07% in 2025, with a 3-year rolling average of 20.06% (RSA Fund Information – Stanbic IBTC Pension Managers). This is an excellent return, well above inflation and typical savings account rates. Fund V Growth, which allows up to 45% variable income exposure, charges a management fee of 3% (per Stanbic’s website) and may offer higher returns but with greater risk.

Fees
Per PenCom’s March 2026 circular, the total fee for Fund V (PPP) is 1.70% (Management 1.20%, Custody 0.35%, Regulatory 0.15%). No fee is charged when the fund unit price is below ₦1 (Circular for Fund V-VII and APA fees – PenCom). This fee is the regulatory baseline; Stanbic may charge this or a different rate. We recommend confirming the exact fee with Stanbic before opening an account.

Pros

  • Strong historical returns (23.07% in 2025 for Fund V Conservative).
  • Market leader in new registrations – indicates trust and efficient service.
  • Robust digital platform for registration, contributions, and withdrawals.
  • Large branch network across Nigeria.

Cons

  • Total fee of 1.70% is higher than Access ARM’s published 1.00% (though Access ARM’s fee may be outdated).
  • Fund V Growth management fee of 3% is relatively high.
  • No public information on customer service response times or complaint resolution.

Best for: Savers who prioritise high returns and want a well-known, reliable PFA with a strong digital experience. Ideal for those comfortable with the 1.70% fee in exchange for proven performance.

4.2 Access ARM Pensions

Overview
Access ARM Pensions was formed from the merger of Access Pension Fund Custodian and ARM Pension Managers. It offers the Personal Pension Plan under Fund V (Personal Pensions Plan – Access ARM Pensions). The PFA positions itself as a cost-effective option, with a published fee structure that appears lower than many competitors.

Fees
Access ARM’s website lists Fund V (Micro-pensions) fees as: PFA 0.75%, PFC 0.25%, Regulatory 0.00%, Total 1.00% (Asset Based) (Fee Structure – Access ARM Pensions). However, this schedule may predate the March 2026 PenCom circular, which sets the regulatory baseline at 1.70% total. It is possible that Access ARM has updated its fees to comply with the circular, or that the circular allows PFAs to charge lower fees if they choose. We advise readers to confirm the current applicable fee with Access ARM before registering.

Fund Returns
No public 2025 return data for Fund V (PPP) is available in the evidence ledger for Access ARM. This is a significant gap – without performance data, it is difficult to assess whether the lower fee translates to better net returns. We recommend checking PenCom’s monthly reports for industry-wide fund performance or contacting Access ARM directly.

Pros

  • Published total fee of 1.00% is the lowest among PFAs with available data (if still applicable).
  • Flexible contribution options – no minimum contribution, as per PPP guidelines.
  • Part of the Access Bank group, which may offer integration with banking services.

Cons

  • No public fund return data for PPP – cannot compare investment performance.
  • Fee schedule may be outdated – current fees may be higher per March 2026 circular.
  • Digital experience may not be as mature as Stanbic IBTC’s.
  • Smaller market share in new RSA registrations (no specific data in ledger).

Best for: Cost-conscious savers who want to minimise fees and are willing to trade off proven returns for lower costs. Suitable for those who plan to make small, frequent contributions and want to keep more of their money working.

4.3 Other PFAs (Leadway Pensure, AIICO Pension, FCMB Pension, AXA Mansard Pension, First Guarantee Pension)

These PFAs are major players in the Nigerian pension industry, offering RSA products under the CPS. However, the evidence ledger does not contain specific PPP fee schedules, fund returns, or registration data for them. It is likely they offer PPP accounts, as PenCom requires all PFAs to provide the product, but we cannot verify their fees or performance.

What we know:

  • Leadway Pensure is one of the oldest PFAs, with a large asset base. It offers RSA and may have PPP. Check their website or call their customer service.
  • AIICO Pension is part of the AIICO Insurance group and has a strong brand. No PPP-specific data in ledger.
  • FCMB Pension is backed by FCMB Bank. No PPP data available.
  • AXA Mansard Pension is part of the AXA group. No PPP data available.
  • First Guarantee Pension is another established PFA. No PPP data available.

Recommendation: If you are considering any of these PFAs for your PPP, contact them directly to request their current fee schedule, fund options, and historical returns. You can also check PenCom’s website for the list of licensed PFAs and any circulars on PPP (National Pension Commission).

5. Step-by-Step Guide: How to Open a Personal Pension Plan (PPP) Account

Opening a PPP account is straightforward and can be done online or at a PFA branch. Here are the steps based on the PPP Guidelines (Guidelines for Personal Pension Plan – September 2025) and PenCom’s Micro Pension FAQ (Micro Pension Frequently Asked Questions – PenCom).

Eligibility

  • You must be a Nigerian 18 years or older.
  • Eligible persons include: self-employed individuals, professionals, informal sector workers (e.g., traders, artisans, farmers), and formal sector employees who already have an RSA under the CPS and want to make additional voluntary contributions.
  • Parents can also register children under 18 on their behalf.

Requirements

  • NIN slip (National Identification Number) together with a registered phone number – this is sufficient documentation for registration, subject to verification.
  • A valid bank account is mandatory for onboarding – you will need to provide your bank details for contributions and withdrawals.
  1. Choose a PFA. Based on our comparison, Stanbic IBTC and Access ARM are the top choices with available data. If you prefer another PFA, confirm their PPP offering first.
  2. Register online or at a branch. Online: Visit the PFA’s website (e.g., Stanbic IBTC PPP registration or Access ARM PPP page). Fill in your NIN, phone number, and bank details. Branch: Visit any PFA branch with your NIN slip and phone number.
  3. Select your fund type. By default, you will be placed in Fund 5A (PPP Conservative Fund), which focuses on capital preservation (maximum 5% variable income exposure). You can elect Fund 5B (PPP Growth Fund) if you want higher potential returns with more risk (up to 45% variable income). This election must be made at registration or later via a fund switch form.
  4. Start contributing. There is no minimum contribution amount – you can contribute as little or as much as you want, based on your financial capacity. Contributions are split 50% for contingent withdrawal and 50% for retirement savings. This means half of every contribution goes into a pool you can access before retirement (for emergencies), while the other half is locked until age 50.
  5. Access your account. You will receive a Personal Pension Plan account number and can monitor your balance, contributions, and fund performance via the PFA’s online portal or mobile app. Contingent withdrawals are available after 3 months from your first contribution, and then once every 2 calendar months. Withdrawals are paid within 24 hours. Retirement benefits can be accessed from age 50 (or earlier if you meet certain conditions like total disability).

For more on managing your savings, see our comparison of PiggyVest vs Cowrywise 2026 and our guide to Best Flexible Savings Accounts in Nigeria 2026.

6. Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What is the difference between the Personal Pension Plan (PPP) and the old Micro Pension Plan?

The PPP is the re-designated Micro Pension Plan under the September 2025 Guidelines. The key change is that Voluntary Contributions (VC) have been harmonised into the PPP, so formal sector employees can now use the same account for additional savings. The features (no minimum contribution, 50/50 split, contingent withdrawals) remain largely the same (Guidelines for Personal Pension Plan – September 2025).

Can I have both an RSA (for my employer) and a PPP account?

Yes. If you are a formal sector employee with an RSA under the Contributory Pension Scheme, you can open a separate PPP account for additional voluntary contributions. You can also make these contributions through the same PFA that manages your RSA.

What happens to my PPP savings if I change PFA?

You can transfer your PPP account from one PFA to another, subject to PenCom’s transfer guidelines. The process is similar to RSA transfers. Contact your new PFA to initiate the transfer.

Are PPP savings protected by NDIC?

The Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC) insures bank deposits, not pension fund assets. However, pension fund assets are held by a Pension Fund Custodian (PFC), which is a separate entity from the PFA. The PFC is regulated by PenCom and must meet strict capital and liquidity requirements. Your contributions are ring-fenced and cannot be used by the PFA for its own operations. For more on deposit insurance, see our guide to NDIC Deposit Insurance in Nigeria.

What is the best PFA for high returns?

Based on available data, Stanbic IBTC Pension Managers offers the highest verified return for Fund V Conservative (23.07% in 2025). However, past performance does not guarantee future returns. Always consider fees and your risk tolerance.

What is the best PFA for low fees?

Access ARM Pensions has a published total fee of 1.00%, which is lower than Stanbic IBTC’s 1.70% (per PenCom circular). However, Access ARM’s fee may be outdated, and their fund returns are not publicly available. If low fees are your priority, confirm the current fee with Access ARM and ask for their fund performance data.

Can I withdraw my PPP savings before retirement?

Yes, you can withdraw the contingent portion (50% of your contributions) after 3 months of your first contribution, and then once every 2 calendar months. The retirement portion (50%) is locked until age 50. Withdrawals are paid within 24 hours.

Do I need a BVN to open a PPP account?

No, a BVN is not required. The PPP Guidelines specify that a NIN slip and registered phone number are sufficient documentation. A valid bank account is mandatory, but BVN is not explicitly listed as a requirement (Guidelines for Personal Pension Plan – September 2025).

What are the fees for Fund V Growth?

For Stanbic IBTC, Fund V Growth has a management fee of 3% (per their website). This is higher than the Conservative fund. Other PFAs may have different fee structures. Always check the PFA’s fee schedule before selecting a fund.

How do I check my PPP balance?

You can check your balance through the PFA’s online portal, mobile app, or by requesting a statement at a branch. Some PFAs also send SMS or email updates after each contribution.

7. What to Do Next

Choosing the right PFA for your Personal Pension Plan is a decision that will affect your retirement savings for years to come. Here is a clear action plan:

  1. Assess your priorities. Are you looking for the highest possible returns, or do you want to minimise fees? If returns matter most, Stanbic IBTC is the clear leader with a 23.07% 2025 return. If low fees are your priority, Access ARM’s published 1.00% fee is attractive, but you need to verify it and ask for performance data.
  2. Confirm current fees. The March 2026 PenCom circular sets a regulatory baseline of 1.70% total fee for Fund V. Some PFAs may charge less, but you should confirm the exact fee with your chosen PFA before opening an account. Contact Stanbic IBTC or Access ARM directly or check their websites for the latest fee schedules.
  3. Check fund performance. If you are considering a PFA other than Stanbic IBTC, ask for their Fund V Conservative and Growth returns for 2025 and the 3-year rolling average. You can also refer to PenCom’s monthly reports for industry-wide fund performance (Monthly Reports | National Pension Commission).
  4. Register online. Both Stanbic IBTC and Access ARM offer online registration. You will need your NIN slip, registered phone number, and bank account details. The process takes less than 10 minutes.
  5. Start contributing. There is no minimum amount, so start with whatever you can afford. Set up a regular contribution schedule (e.g., weekly, monthly) to build your retirement savings consistently.
  6. Monitor your account. Log in to your PPP account regularly to track contributions, fund performance, and fees. If you are not satisfied with the returns or service, you can transfer to another PFA.
  7. Spread the word. With 90% of Nigerian adults lacking pension coverage, encourage your friends, family, and colleagues – especially those in the informal sector – to open a PPP account. PenCom is actively working to drive inclusion, and the PPP makes it easier than ever to save for retirement.

Final verdict: For most savers, Stanbic IBTC Pension Managers is the best choice due to its proven high returns, market leadership, and robust digital platform. If you are extremely cost-sensitive and willing to trade off verified performance for lower fees, Access ARM Pensions is worth investigating – but only after confirming their current fee and fund returns.

Remember: the best pension company is the one that helps you save consistently and grow your money efficiently. Open your PPP account today and take control of your retirement future.

Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial advice. All rates, fees, and returns are based on publicly available data as of 19 September 2026. Always verify current terms with your chosen PFA before making a decision.